Welcome!

Welcome to my first post! For years I’ve been waiting for the right time to start my own blog. In my mind it would be something intelligent, concise, polished. Knowledgeable and charming. Understated yet sexy. It would know what it was, and it would stand out in a sea of sameness. The Natalie Portman of blogs.

I’ve reached a point where my 27th birthday is around the corner and it’s given me some time to reflect. Being f-unemployed is both a gift and a curse in this respect. What I’ve learned in the almost 5 years since graduating from my bachelor’s degree is this:

The older I get, the less I know. About anything.

If I thought I had no clue where to begin when I was a 22 year old, arriving fresh off the plane from Dublin to Paris with a suitcase full of soon-to-be crushed expectations, I had one thing on my side: resilience. To hangovers, specifically.

Now, in the words of Taylor Swift, I’m feeling twenty two – apart from the morning after the night before, or when I look around at close friends who are succeeding in the most fantastic ways. All of their hard work, and grafting, is paying off.

That’s not to say I whittled these years away – on the contrary, I’ve done a lot of living. There are many, many stories to tell. However, I was always waiting for the catalyst, the moment in time where a lightening bolt of inspiration would strike and then BOOM – something would happen. I wasn’t sure what. I’d suddenly know exactly who I am, who I want to be and what I want to write.

Instead of thinking, and planning, I’ve decided to just do. It might be a mess of muddled thoughts, commentary, topics and subjects – but it will be mine. I hope the least I can do is put a smile on your face if you’ve been so generous as to take precious, lost moments to read my words. Here goes nothing!

 

Leave a Reply

